If Random People Were Selected for the Olympics

Sameeta
3 min readSep 24, 2021

--

It’s no surprise when I say that social media is a very important part of our lives nowadays. It’s really fun and entertaining with a lot of relatable and hilarious content.

One thing I’m really liking about Tiktok right now is that many Olympians are posting so much in Tiktok and it’s so fun to watch. I mean, I’ve always imagined that Olympians would be super serious and really focused. No time for fun. But I was clearly wrong. They’re just like us. Regular people. But with A LOT of extra talent😂. I saw so many Olympians that are my age or around my age, and that made me feel really good about myself, not!! They’re all really inspiring though. Very inspiring. I, however, do not have a single strand of sporting abilities in my body, so I’m quite useless in that factor.

Image by Anna Sullivan from Unsplash

Anyways, I saw a couple of videos on Tiktok with people saying, what if, instead of actual world-class sportspeople, some random people were selected and were made to participate in random sports. That would honestly be so hilarious. I can imagine the chaos and confusion if that ever happened. It’ll be the gateway to fame for many. You can get famous by being super good at something, or by embarrassing yourself, it’s up to you how you do it.

I can imagine all the anticipation and anxiety when the participants names and the sport they are to play is announced. It’d kinda be like the owls delivering their admission letters to the first years from Harry Potter. Everyone waiting. Checking their letterboxes and refreshing their emails to see who gets in. Some people might genuinely want to get in. Some might absolutely fear getting in. I think I would be one who wouldn’t want to get in and would be praying that I’m not selected for anything. As I said, I’m a complete embarrassment when it comes to sports.

After everyone knows who is selected for the games, there’ll be chaos!!! People will be boasting that they’ve either been selected or that they know someone who is. I can imagine all those fake relatives tryna be nice to you. There will also be a huge demand for sports teachers or coaches. The first and probably last training session would begin! I really don’t know what that would be like. There’d be billboards with “Take a gymnastics crash course" written on it or something like that. I’d honestly go to one of those crash courses and try my luck. There’d also be a lot of hoax trainers tryna earn some money. That’d be something you’ve gotta be careful about.

Let’s now see what would happen once the games begin. It’d honestly be way more entertaining and funnier than what happens now. I mean, I’d definitely be more interested in sports if this format was actually real. Just thinking about the plight of the judges makes me laugh. Those guys would be having it rough 😂😂. I can imagine the extremely happy and surprised faces when someone actually aces an event, and the embarrassment when you completely ruin what you were supposed to do. A lot of countries are gonna be embarrassed!! But I feel everyone will be cheering for each other. There’ll be no hard and fast competition, per se.

I feel the opening and closing ceremonies will be more like a cultural event. There’ll be big A-list celebrities. It’ll be like a huge award show, actually. Maybe even a concert. That’d be something fun to look forward to.

All in all, it would definitely be like a reality show. Bigg Boss meets Khatron ke Khiladi types stuff, which is great cause I can guarantee my viewership😂

So that’s all the imagining I could take and I think I did pretty okay. Maybe could’ve elaborated more but then I’d have to write for hours!

Note to readers: I am very much aware that the Olympics ended ages ago! By ages I mean almost two months ago. However, I had some other material that I wanted to post and my posting schedule is quite messed up right now, so I’ve gotta work on getting that back on track. I’ll try to be as timely as possible from now on.

Anyways, if you read this far, thank you so much and I hope you enjoyed what you read. Bye!!

--

--

Sameeta

Hello! I'm a twenty-something college student trying to figure life out, and I’m documenting some parts of my journey with you. Come along! It’ll be fun!!